The Cherokee Outlet opened September 16, 1893. On that day Father Leo Gariador, O.S.B., visited Perry. One year later, Bishop Meerschaert dedicated a new church in Perry to St. Rose of Lima, the patron chosen by the members of the parish altar society.
Through the Years............
In 1898 the parish opened Mount Carmel Cemetery.
On September 8, 1900 St. Joseph’s Academy Catholic School opened its doors with 175 students. The Sisters of Divine Providence comprised the faculty; it was the first mission in Oklahoma for this Texas based community, which over the years would send more than 850 sisters to teach in Oklahoma’s parochial schools. Sisters of the Adorers of the Most Precious Blood provided instruction at St. Joseph’s school in the mid-1950s.
The present St. Rose of Lima Church Building dates back to October 24, 1923. With its high steeple, beautiful Stained Glass Windows, hand painted suspended plaster ceilings, and one-of-a-kind copper and bronze doors makes it truly a stunning piece of architecture. The unique copper and bronze doors were comprised of pennies collected by two families who were in charge of having the doors made and installed.
Today, St. Rose of Lima is a very active parish. The Knights of Columbus volunteer to work various parish events such as cooking meals, setting up and hosting events, and helping with any number of projects whenever needed.
Religious Education classes are held weekly for grades 1-12 to teach the youth of the parish the beauty of the faith.
With the 100th anniversary of the current church fast approaching, St. Rose of Lima boasts a long history of serving the community of Perry and the surrounding areas, and hopes to continue to serve for 100 more years.